Skip to content

Home School Blind Spots

September 16, 2011

Before I get much further than the title of this post, note what I am not saying. I am not saying that home schooling is a bad thing…in fact, I think for some people it is a great thing! I am not saying that I think public or private schools are a good thing…in fact, I think they can occasionally be a poor choice for some children. What is important in choosing schooling for our children is to know them well. Each child has varying personality, temperament, and life issues that may make one type of school better for them than another. It is important to be a reflective parent in the process of choosing schools as the Bible is silent on schooling choices, necessitating a great deal of wisdom on the part of the parent. Knowing the pros and cons of schooling choices will help each set of parents to make the best choice for their family. With that, here is an article by Josh Harris on Home Schooling.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 1:20 pm

    I really disliked the article. I think the author made a lot of good points about some of the downfalls of parenting as Christians, but there was no reason to single out homeschoolers. All of the blindspots he listed, I believe, can affect Christian parents of children regardless of their schooling. These were his main criticisms of homeschoolers:

    1. Having Self-Centered Dreams
    2. Raising Family as an Idol
    3. Emphasizing Outward Form
    4. Tending to Judge
    5. Depending on Formulas
    6. Over-Dependence on Authority and Control.
    7. Over-Reliance Upon Sheltering
    8. Not Passing On a Pure Faith
    9. Not Cultivating a Loving Relationship With Our Children

    I really fail to see how these problems do not equally affect some public/private school families.

    You may have guessed by now that I homeschool my children. I do. The choice to do so, though, was motivated not by fear or a desire to shelter my girls from every evil in this world (certainly I cannot shelter them from the evil in their own hearts) but because I like them. I like being with them. I treasure the time I have with them, and they love being at home. I have asked them numerous times if they would like to go outside of the home for school, and they always respond the same. They want to be here. I also believe that they are getting a higher quality education because it is tailored to their needs. Just to be clear, I am responding to the article and it’s criticisms of homeschooling. That’s not to say that there are no faults or room for improvement with any one educational system, certainly there are, but I think that homeschoolers have been unfairly singled out here.

    Of course somewhere in the article he put in the old anecdotal “evidence” of homeschooling gone wrong by mentioning wayward homeschooled kids, contrasting them with godly public schooled kids, failing to mention that there are also wayward public school kids, and devout homeschool kids. Anyone with more than one child (or acquainted with more than one child) knows that children are indeed individuals and behave accordingly. I have met many homeschooling families and few of them believe that there will be a guaranteed outcome. Most Christian parents I know, regardless of the schooling they choose for their kids understand that God alone can change the hearts of our children. And to that end, we pray, we teach, we beg that God would help us to be genuine and we leave it in His hands.

  2. September 26, 2011 1:28 pm

    One more thing. Actually, it’s a comment left on that article that deserves to be shared left by Kim S.

    “I can say with a good deal of certainty that every single one of these issues is not just restricted to homeschooling families. Moralism and legalism are rampant in the evangelical church, not just homeschool circles. Perhaps it is more evident in homeschooling families because the children are physically segregated away from the mainstream, but as other commenters have pointed out, this is useful for all parents.

    There are no methods to produce children who are righteous. Just engaging in homeschooling is not a guarantee of parental success, neither is avoiding homeschooling a guarantee. Spiritual pride in parents comes from the parents, not the education method they choose, and it thrives in both equally well.”

Leave a Reply

