Skip to content

A Time To Rest

November 7, 2011

Monday mornings hit me like a train. I just finished cleaning up from TrinKids PM 12 hours ago and I am already leading a staff devotional for Trinity Preschool at 8:00 and a chapel service at 9:00 for 40 preschoolers. Then its back to the office to work on the schedule for the week, catch up on e-mails, meet with a member of the congregation for lunch, and then get back to the office for staff meeting at 1:30. And, let me tell you…the week does not slow down from there.

Perhaps your job sounds somewhat like mine. Maybe you don’t get to play with Legos at your job, but it is a fast moving train that you either have to get on or get run over by. Life moves fast and so I am grateful for the call of Jesus to come find rest (Matt. 11:28).

Sarah and I will be doing just that this week. For the first time since our honeymoon, we will have a true vacation (one that does not involve going to see family). I will be leaving all signs of work behind on Wednesday, including my computer, so I can truly rest from the work the Lord has called me to at Trinity. This rest will also involve a week off from blogging. It is good to have rhythms in life as Ecclesiastes reminds us…a time to break down, and time to build up; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; a time to tear, and a time to sew (3:3; 5; 7).

Please pray for us as we take some time to slow down and rest. Pray especially that I would:

  1. Be captivated by the Lord and his word.
  2. Know that the Lord is in control of my marriage, ministry, life, etc.
  3. Rest physically and mentally.
  4. Fall more deeply in love with Sarah.
  5. Return ready to serve our children and families.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

