Skip to content

Devotional Thoughts from Psalm 13

February 7, 2012

Psalm 13

How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever? How long will you hide your face from me? How long must I take counsel in my soul and have sorrow in my heart all the day? How long shall my enemy be exalted over me? Consider and answer me, O Lord my God; light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death, lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,” lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken. But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice because I am shaken. But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation. I will sing to the Lord, because he has dealt bountifully with me.

Three thoughts on this Psalm:

  • Christian stoicism is not in play here. The notion that our emotions are something to be squashed, dealt with behind closed doors, or ignored is not something David or God would agree with. In Genesis 3, everything fell…including our emotions. Let’s be comprehensive when we say that the fallenness of our emotions is not just in the emotion itself, but in our own ability to properly deal with the emotion on our own. We need to cry out, to be honest with God and with others. What if the greatest gift we could give the church was not our pretty, smiling, everything is put together self? What if the best gift we could give is our broken, wretched, and incomplete self? Would that shine the light on Jesus more and ourselves less? Would that make us and those around us feel our need of Jesus more? Your need for Jesus is as big as your brokenness and sin is.
  • The Lord is the healer of cancer, a stubbed toe, and our hearts. Notice that David, after crying out to the Lord, asks for his healing. We may go to a doctor for a virus or a counselor for depression…but the Lord is the great physician of them all.
  • The cure for broken emotions is the covenantal faithfulness of the Lord. He has been faithful throughout time and he has been faithful in your life. Mark the moments so you can point to the Lord’s faithfulness in times of distress. Knowledge of the Lord’s character in the midst of sorrow may not take the sorrow away. It is not a balm that will cure everything…only the new heavens and new earth will do that. However, it is good to find our peace and rest in the promises of God when everything around lacks promise.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

