Skip to content

What I Am Praying For My 3 Month Old

March 26, 2013

IMG_0483

Doesn’t it seem the case that it is easier to know how to pray for our children once we really see their sin nature? It seems that by the time they are 4 there is no end to the ways we need to ask the Lord to work on their heart! Our prayers become very reactive instead of proactive and often come from a place of fear instead of hope with a vision to the big picture of what the Lord is doing. “Lord if you could just help her not to pull her sister’s hair today!” “God, please…please…please…if the kids could just be respectful while we are in public today, I would be eternally indebted to you!”

I am sure I too will find myself in those shoes one day, but I am thankful for the people in my life who have encouraged me to begin praying for my son early in his life. In this way, I begin to practice being proactive in prayer, develop a bigger picture for what the Lord is doing,and am able to ask the Lord to work on Jake’s dad who is a big sinner himself!

Here are just a few ways I have been praying for my 3 month old:

1. That as he develops his senses…sight, hearing, touch, taste, and smell…that he would be amazed at all God has made around him. I have been asking the Lord to give Jake a strong sense that there is something much bigger than him going on in the world.

2. I have prayed that the Lord would give him a spirit of humility. Of all the traits I think a person can have that builds character and a pursuit of God…humility tops the list simply because it is perhaps the trait Jesus showed most prominently.

3. That the Lord would protect him from his often impatient, uncaring, and less than sensitive father. That he would be cared for by his heavenly father much better than his earthly one.

4. I have asked that the Lord would surround him with a church that loves him in covenant community. All that he needs will never be provided by Sarah and me. I want him to love church; and even more than the place…the people.

5. The only person who knows Jake better than Sarah and myself is God. I have asked that the Lord would give me keen insight and wisdom into Jake’s personality and that I would celebrate the way God has created him instead of being critical of the ways he is not like me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 26, 2013 2:16 pm

    I love this! My husband and I have been praying for our daughter (she’s 15 months) ever since we found out I was pregnant!! We pray every day for her walk with the Lord to start early and be strong and that she would see the world for what it is, but love people the way Jesus loved them. Prayer is what works! I know the Lord has already shown us the fruits of our prayers bc we prayed for her & my delivery and everything we prayed for happened to the T…even down to the day I went into labor!

Leave a Reply

