Skip to content

What I Read In June

July 1, 2013

I am a continual devourer of information. As such, I am always looking for good book recommendations and am curious as to what other people are reading. I try to read widely (sometimes unsuccessfully) and so I am often reading many books at the same times with various levels of concentration and depth. I am always looking for good book recommendations and so I figured I would “pay it forward” a bit. This will be a new feature on the TrinKids Blog each month…so enjoy…and let me know what you are reading too!

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand – Perhaps one of the best stories I have ever read. I did not want to put this book down. It is a wonderful story of redemption and the human spirit. I would recommend this to anyone.

The-Over-Scheduled-Child

The Over-Scheduled Child by Alvin Rosenfeld – This is a classic work that has become more relevant as the years as past. It questions many of our assumptions of what is best for our children and provides good advice for how to help our children grow emotionally and socially without stressing them (and us) out in the process.

Work Matters by Tom Nelson – A good, basic, and perhaps overly simplistic look at a theology of work. I have not read it yet, but I would imagine Tim Keller’s new book, Every Good Endeavor, will become the go to book in this category more so than this one. Still, this book is accurately biblical and Nelson writes from a reformed perspective on something most of us spend a good portion of our lives doing.

51IDqyyYbhL._SL500_AA300_

Echoes of Eden by Jerram Barrs – Prof. Barrs was one of my favorite teachers in seminary. This book is incredible in its sensitivity to portraying the arts as a part of God’s good creation to be celebrated instead of condemned. He walks through many literary works to show how they present redemptive themes…even when the authors did not necessarily intend to. If you have never read any Barrs, this is a great place to start.

Built to Last by James Collins – This book chronicles what makes the best of the best companies so good. He compares them to a control set of second tier businesses to look for themes that set the top-tier apart. Very interesting material and helpful for leaders of organizations to think through.


what
Spiritual Depression by Martin Lloyd Jones – I am slowly picking my way through this reflective work on meeting our depression with the promises of God. It is a classic work that I am sure will prove beneficial in my walk with the Lord.

What the Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell – I have always loved Gladwell’s writing style. I picked this one up for $0.01 on Amazon and it was literally worth every penny. Gladwell, outside of writing books like Outliers and The Tipping Point, is a columnist for the NY Post. This book is a collection of his best works from the Post. Insightful and keenly written…I could not put it down.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

