Skip to content

What I Read in August

September 3, 2013

I am a continual devourer of information. As such, I am always looking for good book recommendations and am curious as to what other people are reading. I try to read widely (sometimes unsuccessfully) and so I am often reading many books at the same times with various levels of concentration and depth. I am always looking for good book recommendations and so I figured I would “pay it forward” a bit. So, here is what I read in August.

Leadership is an Art by Max DePree – A wonderful book on leadership and management written by one of America’s top CEOs. The short book is full of wisdom from years of leading teams. I loved every page of it and will read it again…lots of times.

packer2Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God by J.I. Packer – This book was originally written in the 1950s and bears all the marks of classic Packer. Short, sweet, and to the point. This is doctrine put on the low shelf. I would recommend this to anyone who is struggling with issues related to predestination and free will. Packer does a great job balancing the two.

Leading Teams, Leading People by Lee Ellis – This book, although I read it like a regular book, is really more of a reference and tool. It provides good (but sometimes vague) personality diagnostics to help maximize team performance. Overall it was good. A bit clunky and repetitive at points.

In Christ Alone by Sinclair Ferguson – Simple, straightforward, and yet complex look at the person and work of Jesus. Would give this to someone unfamiliar with Jesus and would also reference it in a dissertation. Ferguson does a great job of blending top-notch scholarship with accessible writing.

book1Deep and Wide – Andy Stanley – I am still working on this one. It is half biography and half ministry philosophy of his megachurch – North Point in Atlanta. The first part of the book is riveting as he recounts the infamous “split” in First Baptist Atlanta that resulted in the creation of North Point Church. I am just starting to get into some of his ministry philosophy. There is a lot of good stuff here, but a lot of seeds to spit out. I am glad Andy is in the kingdom, but I am not sure I would work on the same staff as him! But I love him for his wisdom and winsome spirit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

